Rokita Receives Airline Owners and Pilots Association’s Top Award For Lawmakers

Washington, D.C. – Rep. Rokita released the following statement after being awarded this year’s Hartranft Award by the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA).

“I am deeply humbled to receive this award named after ‘Doc’ Hartranft, a true leader in the field of aviation.  Doc was a patriot who understood that aviation only came about due to our American exceptionalism, and always strove to give back to our country through his service.  It is an honor to be associated with these ideals of patriotism and leadership in the aviation community, and I look forward to continuing my work on behalf of pilots during this Congress.”

The Hartranft Award is presented annually to one elected or appointed government official who made significant contributions to the advancement of general aviation.  The award is named after AOPA’s first president and former chairman of the board, “Doc” Hartranft.  Rep. Rokita also received AOPA’s Freedom to Fly Award, given to Members of Congress who demonstrate a commitment to preserving general aviation across the country.

Rep. Rokita is a commercially-rated pilot, a member of the General Aviation Caucus, and served as the only Hoosier from the majority party on the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee during the 114th Congress.


During the 113th and 114th Congresses, Rep. Rokita introduced the General Aviation Pilot Protection Act (GAPPA), leading the way on third class medical reform.  Reforms to the certification process were included in the FAA reauthorization signed by President Obama in July, 2016.

About Shane Ray

Check Also

Gov. Holcomb, INDOT, ISP mark start of 2024 construction season, urge drivers to travel safely in work zones

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Earlier today the Indiana Department of Transportation officially marked the start of its 2024 …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *