Congressman Jim Banks (IN-03)

Rep. Banks Named Co-Chair of Future of Defense Task Force

WASHINGTON, D.C. – House Armed Services Committee Chairman Adam Smith (D-Wash.) and Ranking Member Mac Thornberry (R-Texas) announced the official activation of the Future of Defense Task Force, naming Reps. Jim Banks (R-Ind.) and Seth Moulton (D-Mass.) co-chairs.

“Since he entered Congress, Rep. Jim Banks has been focused on the national security issues that will define the next generation,” said Ranking Member Thornberry. “He’s sounded the alarm on the national security threat posed by China through adversarial companies like Huawei and ZTE, and he’s provided constructive solutions to recharge our own organic defense innovation base. Rep. Banks’ fresh-thinking will be a boon to this Task Force.”

“The future is coming, and we need our military to be ready. I am honored to be tapped to lead this important Task Force and help our country brace for new, complex national security threats coming from China and Russia,” said Rep. Banks.

The bipartisan Future of Defense Task Force is chartered to review U.S. defense assets and capabilities and assess the state of the national security innovation base to meet emerging threats.  

Representatives Susan Davis (D-Calif), Chrissy Houlahan (D-Pa.), Elissa Slotkin (R-Mich.), Scott DesJarlais (R-Tenn.), Paul Mitchell (R-Mich.) and Michael Waltz (R-Fla.) have agreed to serve on the task force.

HASC Committee leadership can initiate a task force to execute oversight of issues that cross multiple subcommittee jurisdictions or are deemed worthy of special attention by its Members. Reps Smith and Thornberry initiated the Future of Defense Task Force to examine the Department of Defense’s strategic priorities, capabilities and operational concepts to ensure the national security innovation base is poised to meet long-range emerging threats and the rise of global competitors.

From initial activation, the duration of the Task Force is three months with the option of renewal for an additional three months.

The Task Force’s first hearing will be on Tuesday, October 29, 2019 at 10 a.m. in Rayburn House Office Building in Room 2118.

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at

Check Also

Gov. Holcomb, INDOT, ISP mark start of 2024 construction season, urge drivers to travel safely in work zones

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Earlier today the Indiana Department of Transportation officially marked the start of its 2024 …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *