Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarships Awarded

The 200 Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship recipients have been selected following a competitive selection process based on academic achievement, teacher nomination and an in-person interview. The scholarship pays up to $7,500 annually (up to $30,000 total) for students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five years after college graduation.

“The Commission wants to congratulate all 200 of the students who were chosen to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship,” Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers said. “We were encouraged by the high-quality applicants and know these future teachers will have a positive impact in Indiana classroom.”

A total of 642 students applied for the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship with applications coming from 274 high schools in 85 of the Indiana’s 92 counties. About two-thirds of applicants were Indiana high school seniors with the remainder comprised of current college students.

“This scholarship reflects the appreciation we have for those pursuing a career in teaching – a critical and unique profession impacting the lives of every young Hoosier,” said House Speaker Brian Bosma (R-Indianapolis), author of the legislation creating the scholarship. “Congratulations to all of these recipients, and it is our hope your talent and passion for teaching inspires others to follow.”

To qualify for the scholarship, students had to either graduate in the highest 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. To continue earning the scholarship in college, students must earn at least a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.

Students who received the scholarship for the 2017-18 academic year are listed below.


Kenneth Patterson, Avon High School, Ball State University

Andrew Shriner, Covenant Christian High School, Taylor University

Maisie Smith, Plainfield High School, University of Indianapolis

Nathan Stonebraker, Cascade Senior High School, Franklin College

Victoria Treash, Plainfield High School, Ball State University

Benjamin Wachnicki, Decatur Central High School, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Ceven Webb, Ben Davis High School, Ball State University

Josie Wilson, Tri-West Senior High School, Indiana University Bloomington

About Shane Ray

Check Also

Hendricks County legislators: Local communities receive state funding to roll ahead on road projects

STATEHOUSE (April 10, 2024) – Hendricks County and local communities can roll forward with road and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *