Indiana Supreme Court names Chief Administrative Officer

After a national search, the Indiana Supreme Court has named Henry Circuit Court 1 Judge Mary Willis as its first Chief Administrative Officer (CAO). Chief Justice Loretta H. Rush said, “Mary is a tremendous leader with legal and administrative skills who will be a great asset to the Supreme Court.”

Judge Mary Willis
Judge Mary Willis

Willis will begin work in July. The Supreme Court will appoint a temporary judge to hear cases in Henry County. Division of State Court Administration Executive Director Lilia Judson is serving as Interim CAO. She will retire in September after facilitating a smooth transition to Willis.

Willis was elected judge in Henry County in 2003. She is a graduate of Ball State and the Indiana University McKinney School of Law. She is President of the Indiana Judges Association, a member of the Court’s Strategic Planning Committee, and the Indiana Judicial Conference Board of Directors.

In February, the Court announced an internal restructuring plan which created an Office of Judicial Administration (OJA). The goal is to enhance communication, clarify staff responsibilities, document institutional knowledge, plan for personnel succession, and continue to move the judiciary forward. In addition to Willis, the OJA includes 200 employees led by directors in the following departments:

  • Boards and Commissions: Terry Harrell, Bradley Skolnik, Michael Witte
  • Clerk: Greg Pachmayr
  • Communication, Education, and Outreach: Kathryn Dolan
  • Fiscal: Aaron Hood
  • Judicial Center and Court Administration: Jane Seigel
  • Personnel Management and Operations: Brenda Rodeheffer
  • Supreme Court Services: Jason Bennett

Trial and Appellate Court Technology: Mary DePrez and Robert Rath

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at

Check Also

Gov. Holcomb, INDOT, ISP mark start of 2024 construction season, urge drivers to travel safely in work zones

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Earlier today the Indiana Department of Transportation officially marked the start of its 2024 …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *