Hendricks County Officially Names its 24 Bicentennial Torchbearers


Torch_Relay_LogoHendricks-017DANVILLE, IN (July 25, 2016) – Just 60 days remain until the Indiana Bicentennial Torch Relay arrives in Hendricks County, and the county’s Bicentennial Committee has officially unveiled the 24 torchbearers who will carry the torch during the Hendricks County Torch Relay presented by Duke Energy on Sept. 23.

“We ended up with a great mix of both past and current residents who have poured their blood, sweat and tears into this county,” said Josh Duke, Hendricks County bicentennial coordinator. “104 people were nominated for this great honor. All were very deserving, so it was tough to narrow it down to just 24, but those chosen represent our county well.”

Hendricks County formed a selection committee with representatives from throughout the county. That group met in February and spent many hours poring over the nominations before agreeing on the 24 torchbearers.

Nominees could be former or current Hendricks County residents and achieved personal or professional excellence or made an outstanding contribution to their neighborhood, region or state through public service, volunteerism or heroism. A person could be nominated posthumously with a substitute torchbearer chosen to carry the torch in their honor.

The 24 torchbearers who will represent Hendricks County include (posthumous selections are marked by an asterisk and include the name of the substitute torchbearer):

  • Tim Balz
  • Jeff Banning
  • Robin Brandgard
  • Richard Carlucci
  • Lee Comer
  • Mary Lee Comer
  • Dennis Dawes
  • Bob Gentry
  • *Richard Givan – His granddaughter Dara Smith
  • *Rita Hodson – Her husband Don Hodson
  • Maggie Hoernemann
  • Gene Hostetter
  • *Dorothy Kelley – Her grandson Kevin Kelley
  • Connie Lawson
  • *Doris Martin – Her husband Ernie Martin
  • *Adrian Parsons – His great-great-grandaughter Emily Parsons
  • John Reel
  • *Malcolm Scamahorn – His grandson Doug Scamahorn
  • Dick Thompson
  • *John Vestal Hadley – Retired Circuit Court Judge Jeffrey Boles
  • Dennis Watson
  • *Blanche Wean – Her grandson Brad Andrews
  • Dave Whicker
  • Dick Whicker

“The committee had a long discussion about our posthumous selections,” Duke said. “Ultimately, we decided those people helped make Hendricks County what it is today. After all, isn’t celebrating our state and county’s history what this bicentennial year is all about?”

Developed by the state, the torch relay will be patterned after the Olympic Torch Relay and is designed to connect Hoosiers across the state and nation. The torch will pass through all 92 counties during a five-week trek beginning Sept. 9 in Corydon.

The torch will spend four hours in Hendricks County from 9 a.m.- 1 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 23 starting that morning at Lucas Oil Raceway in Brownsburg where a 25th ceremonial torchbearer, drag racer Morgan Lucas, will take the torch down the drag strip at 300 mph during a 30-minute ceremony. The torch will then make its way through Avon before stopping in Danville for an hour-long celebration and then through Clayton and Plainfield before being passed off to Morgan County.

For more information about the Hendricks County bicentennial celebration, find the county bicentennial Facebook page by searching for Indiana Bicentennial: Hendricks County or online at www.VisitHendricksCounty.com/Bicentennial.

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and WYRZ.org. Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at brian@wyrz.org.

Check Also

Hendricks County prepares for Bicentennial celebrations with multiple endorsed events approved this month

The Hendricks County Bicentennial was announced this past January and ideas for events and projects …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *