Gov. Holcomb Declares Disaster Emergency for Seven Additional Counties, 18 Total Included

INDIANAPOLIS – Gov. Eric J. Holcomb today added seven counties to the disaster emergency he declared Feb. 24 in response to widespread flooding and infrastructure damage caused by sustained heavy rainfall. The governor signed a new executive order to include Benton, Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Jefferson, Spencer and Warrick counties—in addition to Carroll, Dearborn, Elkhart, Fulton, Lake, Marshall, Perry, St. Joseph, Starke, Switzerland and White counties—making 18 total counties covered by this disaster emergency declaration so far.  

The disaster declaration means the state Department of Homeland Security can take necessary actions to provide expanded emergency services and is a step the state is required to take to request assistance from the federal government. 

The State Emergency Operations Center (EOC) was activated Thursday morning and continues to maintain a statewide operating picture concerning the status of the ongoing flooding and respond to requests for assistance from local officials. The EOC has directly assisted counties by coordinating the delivery of over 700,000 sandbags, two water pumps, heavy equipment and vehicles, labor crews, traffic control, UAV photography and subject matter expertise on disaster response and recovery. 

In addition to the Indiana Department of Homeland Security, other agencies providing services and assistance include the Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Indiana State Police, Indiana Department of Transportation, Indiana Department of Correction, Indiana National Guard, Indiana Family and Social Services Administration, Indiana Board of Animal Health, Indiana Department of Agriculture, Indiana State Department of Health, the Indiana Department of Environmental Management and the American Red Cross.

The State EOC will continue operating, monitoring the status of the ongoing situation and providing support and resources across the state.

The governor today is touring flood damage in Clark, Jefferson and Dearborn counties. On Friday, he toured Elkhart and St. Joseph counties, learning about the flood damage and engaging with local emergency response teams.  

To report weather-related damage, please contact  

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at

Check Also

Gov. Holcomb, INDOT, ISP mark start of 2024 construction season, urge drivers to travel safely in work zones

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Earlier today the Indiana Department of Transportation officially marked the start of its 2024 …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *