Byway Brewing Co. Sweeps 18th Indiana Brewers’ Cup

INDIANAPOLIS- After a weekend full of tasting, deliberation, and more tasting, Byway Brewing Company swept the professional division at the 18th Indiana Brewers’ Cup Competition by picking up the title of Grand Champion Brewery of the Year, Indiana Brewery of the Year, and Best in Show.  Founded in 2013 by Dave Toth, Tom Duszynski, and Branko Sajn, Byway Brewing Co. currently serves nine beers on tap in their local restaurant and taproom in Hammond, IN. 

Out of 850 entries, the homebrew division was topped by Thomas Wallbank of Zionsville, IN, who was named Indiana Homebrewer of the Year.  Wallbank is a member of the Foam Blowers of Indiana, who collectively won the title of Homebrew Club of the Year.  The homebrew category allows amateur brewers the chance to showcase their hard work in a competitive environment. 

With 1,500 total entries and 140 judges this year, the Indiana Brewers’ Cup Competition has solidified its place as one of the nation’s largest competitions to feature home and professional brewers.  Professional brewers had 32 possible divisions to enter as did their homebrew counterparts.  The Indiana Brewers’ Cup Competition is a prestigious event—it is a Master Championship of Amateur Brewing (MCAB) qualifying competition and is also a Midwest Homebrewer of the Year Circuit Event.  In addition to attracting brewers from across the state of Indiana, the 2016 Indiana Brewers’ Cup drew competitors from all across the country. 

For more information about the final outcome of the 18th Indiana Brewers’ Cup Competition, please visit

2016 Indiana Brewers’ Cup Competition



About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at

Check Also

Registration for B&O Bicycle Tour Now Open

(Brownsburg, Indiana – February 13, 2024) The B&O Trail Association will host its annual B&O …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *