(Left to Right) Jeffery Thompson (R-Lizton), Greg Steuerwald (R-Avon), Bob Behning (R-Indianapolis)

Area lawmakers announce Hendricks County recipients of $7,500 teaching scholarships

STATEHOUSE (April 24, 2020) — Several students from Hendricks County pursuing a career in education recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to local legislators.

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years of college to obtain a teaching license. The program began in 2017 thanks to legislation supported by State Reps. Jeff Thompson (R-Lizton), Greg Steuerwald (R-Avon) and Bob Behning (R-Indianapolis).

“As a retired teacher, I understand the importance of having qualified individuals preparing future generations for success,” Thompson said. “This scholarship is a great incentive for those pursuing a teaching career.”

More than 350 students applied and several scholarships were recently awarded to these local students:

  • Alice Burnette, from Plainfield and a student at Mooresville High School, will attend Grace College;
  • Claire Harper, from Plainfield and a student at Plainfield High School, will attend Ball State University;
  • Lucy McRoberts, from Danville and a student at Danville Community High School, will attend Indiana Wesleyan University;
  • Sarah Scharlau, from Plainfield and a student at Plainfield High School, will attend Marian University;
  • Alexa Williams, from Pittsboro and a student at Covenant Christian High School, will attend Ball State University; and
  • Beverly Winters, from Clayton and a student at Cascade Senior High School, will attend Grace College.

Steuerwald said the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

“These students from Hendricks County are the best and brightest, and our state will benefit from them leading our classrooms,” Steuerwald said. 

According to Behning, chair of the House Committee on Education, recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000.

“This scholarship is a great opportunity for aspiring teachers to pursue their goals without having to worry about the full cost of college,” Behning said. “Indiana’s educators inspire the next generation to purse this critical career, and we need more students like these Hendricks County residents to enter our classrooms.”  

 “Congratulations to all 200 students, who are on their way to becoming impactful, future Hoosier teachers,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We know these students have the passion and determination to make a difference in classrooms across the state.”

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher for more information.

Behning: Area lawmakers announce Hendricks County recipients of $7,500 teaching scholarships
The Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship was recently awarded to 200 students planning to pursue a college degree in education. House Education Committee Chair, State Rep. Bob Behning (R-Indianapolis) and State Rep. Dale DeVon (R-Granger) discuss the importance of this scholarship and Indiana’s future educators.

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and WYRZ.org. Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at brian@wyrz.org.

Check Also

WYRZ LIVE REMOTE – 19th Annual Hendricks County Rib-Fest – June 29th

WYRZ’s Shane Ray will be broadcasting LIVE from the 19th annual Hendricks County Rib-Fest presented …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *