2000 students learn about Indiana courts through bicentennial celebration

The Indiana Supreme Court will hold an oral argument in the original Supreme Court Courtroom in Corydon on April 20 at 10:30 a.m. In cooperation with the Department of Education and Indiana Public Broadcasting Stations, the argument will be webcast live at courts.in.gov/corydon.

As part of the celebration, 2000 students will meet with a judge or lawyer to learn more about the courts. The following individuals volunteered to speak to students before, during, or after the webcast of the argument.

  • Clark County – Judge Brad Jacobs to Jeffersonville High School
  • Clay County – Judge Blaine Akers to Northview High School
  • Dearborn County – Judge Jonathan Cleary to East Central High School
  • Fayette County – Judge Beth Butsch to Connersville High School
  • Hamilton County – Holly Newell to New Britton Elementary School
  • Harrison County – Judge Joseph Claypool to Lanesville High School
  • Huntington County – Robert Eherenman to Huntington North High School
  • Johnson County – Judge Marla Clark to Center Grove High School
  • LaPorte County – Magistrate Nancy Gettinger to New Prairie Elementary School
  • Marion County – Judge Martha Wentworth and Brandee Chanin to Lincoln Middle School
  • Marion County – Brian Clouse to Spring Mill Elementary School
  • Marion County – Mike Commons to IPS #59 – Merle Sidener Academy
  • Marion County – Lisa Davidson to Warren Central High School
  • Marion County – Amber Finley and Nicole Schuster to St. Joan of Arc
  • Marion County – Jessica Gastineau to IPS Rousseau McClellan School 91
  • Marion County – Michelle Goodman to Girl Scout Troop 623
  • Marion County – Kyle Hunter to Harrison High School (Tippecanoe County)
  • Marion County – Dino Pollock to Carpe Diem Northwest
  • Marion County – Ashley Rozier to Northrup High School (Allen County)
  • Miami County – Judge Tim Spahr to Peru High School
  • Newton County – Judge Daniel Molter to South Newton Elementary
  • Putnam County – Judge Matt Headley to North Putnam Middle School
  • Warrick County – Judge Greg Granger to Boonville High School
  • Wayne County – Judge Darrin Dolehanty to Centerville High School
  • Wells County – Judge Kenton Kiracofe to St. Aloyius Catholic School (Allen County)
  • Whitley County – Judge Douglas Fahl to Columbia City High School

The lawyers will talk about the judicial branch including oral argument procedure and the daily operations of the courts. The outreach to schools is part of the initiative surrounding the judicial branch celebration of the state bicentennial. More details on the argument and celebration can be found at courts.in.gov/corydon.

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and WYRZ.org. Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at brian@wyrz.org.

Check Also

Indiana Provides Educators A Free Opportunity to Earn a Literacy Endorsement

INDIANAPOLIS –The Indiana Department of Education today announced that eligible educators can now enroll in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *