Weekly Construction Update for Marion County and I-70 Projects

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Department of Transportation will close lanes in Marion County and along the I-70 corridor this week.

This weekly release will detail full closures, lane closures and ramp closures throughout the construction zones in Marion County and along the I-70 corridor from I-465 to the Ohio State Line. 

During construction, please plan ahead and find alternate routes. Give yourself extra time to travel in construction zones and drive distraction free. 

Some of this work is weather dependent and could change. Follow @INDOTEast on Twitter and INDOT East Central on Facebook for the latest construction information.

*Note* These closures are for the next week, not just for this weekend, please pay close attention to the dates. 

Lane Closures

  • I-65 NB near Keystone Ave. (Downtown Indianapolis) 
    • All lanes closed, traffic diverted into crossover 
    • Monday, April 20 to Friday, August 7
    • NOTE: From Midnight to Noon, 3 lanes going NB, 2 lanes going SB. From Noon to Midnight: 2 lanes going NB, 3 lanes going SB.
  • SR 67 from I-465 to SR 144
    • Intermittent lane closures 
    • Daytime work, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday, June 15 to Monday, August 10
  • NB/SB Emerson from 21st Street to 30th Street 
    • 4 a.m. Wednesday, July 22 to 5 a.m. Monday, July 27
  • I-70 WB from Mt. Comfort Rd. to Post Rd.
    • All lanes closed, traffic diverted onto EB lanes
    • Friday, June 26 to Friday, July 31
  • I-70 WB from Mt. Comfort Rd. to SR 9
    • 9 p.m. Saturday, July 2 to 6 a.m. Friday, August 7
  • I-70 WB from Wilbur Wright to SR 3
    • Left lane closed 
    • 8 p.m. Friday, July 17 to 6 a.m. Thursday, July 30
  • I-70 EB from SR 1 to Centerville Rd 
    • Right lane closed 
    • 6 a.m. Monday, July 13 to 6 a.m. Thursday, July 30

Ramp Closures 

  • I-70 WB to Meridian St. (Downtown Indianapolis) 
    • RAMP CLOSED
    • 7 p.m. Friday, July 24 to 12 p.m. Wednesday, July 29
  • NB/SB I-65 to County Line Road 
    • Intermittent daytime closures
    • 6 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday, July 27
  • I-465 WB to U.S. 31 NB (Meridian St) 
    • RAMP CLOSED 
    • 9 p.m. Tuesday, July 28 to 5 a.m. Wednesday, July 29
  • NB/SB Post Rd to I-70 EB
    • RAMPS CLOSED 
    • 12 a.m. Monday, July 13 to 11 p.m. Monday, July 27
  • I-70 WB to/from Shadeland Ave.
    • 9 p.m. Friday, July 17 to 6 a.m. Monday, July 27
  • I-70 EB to/from U.S. 35
    • 12 a.m. Sunday, July 26 to 11:30 p.m. Wednesday, July 29
  • Southport Rd to I-65 NB
    • RAMPS CLOSED 
    • Thursday, July 9 to end of November 

Stay Informed
Motorists in East Central Indiana can monitor road closures, road conditions, and traffic alerts any time via:

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 FM WYRZ and WYRZ.org. Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at brian@wyrz.org.

Check Also

Brownsburg Resident Among Gov. Holcomb Appointments to Various Boards and Commissions

INDIANAPOLIS — Governor Eric J. Holcomb today announced several appointments to various state boards and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.