Three Hendricks County farm families among nearly 100 families to receive century farming award

INDIANAPOLIS (Aug. 9, 2019) — Today at the Indiana State Fair, Lt. Governor Suzanne Crouch and Indiana State Department of Agriculture Director Bruce Kettler presented 96 farming families with the Hoosier Homestead Award, setting a new record in the program’s 40-year history.

To be named a Hoosier Homestead, the farm had to be kept in the family for at least 100 consecutive years, and consist of more than 20 acres or produce more than $1,000 in agricultural products per year.

Since the program was established in 1976, more than 5,600 families have received the award.

“The vast majority of farms in Indiana are family owned and operated,” Crouch said. “They are the foundation we rely on as a society, which is something we must never take for granted. It was an honor to recognize these families at the great Indiana State Fair.”

Families were eligible for three different award distinctions. Based on the age of the farm, they received the Centennial Award for 100 years, Sesquicentennial Award for 150 years or Bicentennial Award for 200 years of ownership.

Notably, the Bicentennial Award was presented to five families during Friday’s ceremony.

“Seeing so many generational farming families all in one place was truly humbling,” Kettler said. “They are the lifeblood of our state, and recognizing their legacy and perseverance today was a tremendous honor.”

The following list includes the 2019 summer Hoosier Homestead Award recipients.

County Award Name Homestead Date Award Type
Allen James & Deborah Roth 1919 Centennial
Bartholomew Burney 1918 Centennial
Bartholomew Guinn 1836 Sesquicentennial
Bartholomew Larry Speaker 1908 Centennial
Bartholomew Thayer 1854 Centennial & Sesquicentennial
Benton Roberts 1912 Centennial
Boone McDonald 1857 Sesquicentennial
Boone Peabody/Batts 1908 Centennial
Cass Mills 1919 Centennial
Cass Personett 1902 Centennial
Cass Richardson – Weideman 1844 Centennial & Sesquicentennial
Cass Wilson and Mills 1919 Centennial
Clay McCullough 1905 Centennial
Clay Mercer – Summers 1918 Centennial
Clay Peavey – Wolf 1858 Sesquicentennial
Davies Cottee 1863 Centennial & Sesquicentennial
Davies Singleton – Ward – Barber 1869 Sesquicentennial
Dearborn Hopping 1816 Centennial, Sesquicentennial & Bicentennial
Decatur Kirchhoff 1919 Centennial
Delaware Marion & Alma Russell 1919 Centennial
Dubois Schuler Temple 1901 Centennial
Dubois Wagner 1869 Sesquicentennial
Elkhart Lutes 1910 Centennial
Elkhart Umbaugh 1874 Centennial
Fayette Jack & Milah Frost 1819 Bicentennial
Floyd Buechler 1906 Centennial
Franklin Fledderman 1918 Centennial
Franklin Logan 1919 Centennial
Franklin Siefert 1869 Sesquicentennial
Gibson Block & Dawson 1919 Centennial
Gibson John Boeglin 1919 Centennial
Hamilton Mosbaugh 1842 Centennial & Sesquicentennial
Hancock Troy 1901 Centennial
Hancock William D. Addison & Family 1906 Centennial
Hendricks Garner 1858 Sesquicentennial
Hendricks Ross 1831 Centennial & Sesquicentennial
Hendricks Wyeth 1919 Centennial
Henry Frazier – Chambers – Rifner 1851 Sesquicentennial
Henry Richey 1919 Centennial
Howard Hite 1863 Sesquicentennial
Howard Hite 1903 Centennial
Howard Kurtz 1919 Centennial
Howard McDaniel – Petro 1886 Centennial
Huntington Simon 1919 Centennial
Jackson Bishop 1914 Centennial
Jackson Goecker (Pfenning) 1857 Sesquicentennial
Jackson Rieckers 1852 Sesquicentennial
Jasper Odom 1878 Centennial
Jasper Roberts 1919 Centennial
Jasper Streitmatter 1919 Centennial
Jasper Zimmer – Steinke 1910 Centennial
Jay Green Acres Family Farm 1918 Centennial
Jennings Elsner 1919 Centennial
LaGrange Weaver 1866 Sesquicentennial
Lake Bryant & Dowd 1854 Sesquicentennial
Madison Holtzleiter 1918 Centennial
Marshall Norris 1917 Centennial
Marshall Stanley Weiss 1888 Centennial
Miami Butt 1888 Centennial
Miami Butt 1915 Centennial
Miami Kunkle 1908 Centennial
Montgomery Myers – Fruits 1918 Centennial
Morgan Barbara J. & Neal W. Harder 1868 Sesquicentennial
Noble Wilkinson 1919 Centennial
Noble Riddle 1866 Centennial & Sesquicentennial
Noble Shultz 1919 Centennial
Owen Barton 1863 Sesquicentennial
Parke Clarence & Gladys Pyle Family 1919 Centennial
Parke Summers 1912 Centennial
Posey Happe – Winiger 1917 Centennial
Posey Vernon F. Blankenberger 1919 Centennial
Pulaski Kline 1851 Centennial & Sesquicentennial
Randolph Raymond K. Miller 1917 Centennial
Randolph Runner 1918 Centennial
Ripley Narwold 1866 Sesquicentennial
Ripley Naylor 1846 Sesquicentennial
Ripley Obendorf 1865 Sesquicentennial
Ripley Otte/Webster 1866 Sesquicentennial
Rush Mahan 1918 Centennial
Scott Smith 1817 Sesquicentennial & Bicentennial
Spencer Mehling 1919 Centennial
Spencer Patmore 1919 Centennial
Steuben Pfafman 1919 Centennial
Sullivan Peterson 1853 Centennial & Sesquicentennial
Sullivan Wallace 1844 Centennial & Sesquicentennial
Switzerland Hall 1908 Centennial
Tippecanoe Klutzke 1916 Centennial
Vigo Barbour Family LLC 1819 Centennial, Sesquicentennial & Bicentennial
Vigo Fitzpatrick 1858 Sesquicentennial
Wabash Floor 1918 Centennial
Wabash Schenkel 1882 Centennial
Warren Morgan 1908 Centennial
Warren St. John – Huber 1907 Centennial
Wayne Glass 1918 Centennial
Wayne Russell Allen Brower 1819 Centennial, Sesquicentennial & Bicentennial
Whitley Fay Conrad 1919 Centennial

Click here or visit to learn more about the Hoosier Homestead Award.

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at

Check Also

Hendricks County prepares for Bicentennial celebrations with multiple endorsed events approved this month

The Hendricks County Bicentennial was announced this past January and ideas for events and projects …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *