Dr. Margaret Hoernemann

Leadership Hendricks County names 2017 award winners

Leadership Hendricks County annually presents the Leader of the Year Award to a member of our community who leads by example, is a collaborator, a peace maker, and a visionary.  Last month at the LHC Celebration of Leaders, we presented the 2017 Leader of the Year Award to Tim Whicker.  The Leader of the Year selection committee, comprised of previous Leader of the Year Award recipients, may also consider candidates for the Suzanne Whicker Distinguished Service Award.  Named for Leadership Hendricks County’s first Executive Director, the Suzanne Whicker Distinguished Service Award criteria are similar to those for the Leader of the Year.  Service Award winners must be servant leaders who bring out the best in others either within the scope of their employment or in the community as a whole.

The 2017 Distinguished Service Award winner has spent her career educating students, and Avon was lucky enough to have her join its staff eighteen years ago as its first Director of Human Resources.  She became the Superintendent of Avon Community School Corporation in March 2012 and was named Indiana Superintendent of the Year in 2016.  Her focus on community collaboration to meet the needs of students has strengthened the educational experience for the nearly 10,000 students who attend Avon’s schools every day.  Our recipient’s impact on the community goes far beyond the walls of Avon’s schools.  She is a member of St. Malachy Parish, an Avon Rotary Club member, Family Promise overnight host volunteer, and a member of the Avon Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors.  Congratulations to the 2017 Suzanne Whicker Distinguished Service Award winner, Dr. Margaret Hoernemann.

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and WYRZ.org. Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at brian@wyrz.org.

Check Also

Registration for B&O Bicycle Tour Now Open

(Brownsburg, Indiana – February 13, 2024) The B&O Trail Association will host its annual B&O …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *