Indiana Department of Education Announces Recipient of 2019-2020 Title III Distinguished School District Award

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Department of Education has announced the recipient of the 2019-2020 Title III Distinguished Indiana School District Award. Perry Township Schools was chosen to receive this distinction for demonstrating a commitment to English Learner success through strategic programming, rigorous instruction, inclusive school culture, and beneficial partnerships with families and the community.

“I applaud the dedicated work of the students, families, staff, and communities of Perry Township Schools,” said State Superintendent Dr. Jennifer McCormick. “Under the leadership of Director Whitney Wilkowski, Perry Township Schools represents the vision of working together for student success by ensuring English Learners, and all children, have opportunities to succeed.”

Perry Township Schools was selected after a review of English Learner performance data from all public school districts and charter schools, followed by a two-part interview process, including an on-site visit.

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at

Check Also

Indiana Provides Educators A Free Opportunity to Earn a Literacy Endorsement

INDIANAPOLIS –The Indiana Department of Education today announced that eligible educators can now enroll in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *