Indiana Department of Education Announces 2018-2019 Title I Distinguished Schools

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) today announced the recipients of the 2018-2019 Title I Distinguished Schools Award. William Henry Burkhart Elementary School in Perry Township Schools received the award for Exceptional Student Performance, and Arlington Heights Elementary School in Monroe County Community School Corporation received the award for Closing the Achievement Gap.

“I applaud the dedicated work of the students, educators, families, staff, and communities of William Henry Burkhart Elementary and Arlington Heights Elementary,” said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction. “These schools represent the vision of working together on the behalf of students by creating environments whereby all children have the opportunity to succeed.”

IDOE selected William Henry Burkhart Elementary and Arlington Heights Elementary after a rigorous data review and interview process to identify successful, high-poverty schools with varied student populations and locations.

For more information on Title I Distinguished Schools, including award criteria and past recipients, please visit:

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at

Check Also

Indiana Secretary of State’s Office Recognizes National “Slam the Scam Day” and Warns Hoosiers to Be Vigilant

INDIANAPOLIS (March 7, 2024) – Secretary of State Diego Morales will be recognizing Slam the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *