Governor Pence Reappoints Carol Stephan as Chair of the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission

Carol Stephan

Indianapolis – Governor Mike Pence today reappointed Carol Stephan as chairperson of the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC).

“Throughout Carol Stephen’s tenure at the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission, she has shown that she is a leader with integrity and I am pleased to reappoint her today,” said Governor Pence. “Her deep understanding and commitment to the commission’s work make her uniquely qualified for this role.”

Stephan, of Indianapolis, was appointed to the IURC in February of 2014 and became the first female Chair of the Commission in May 2014. Before her role as Chair, Stephan served as Assistant General Counsel for the IURC and has extensive experience in state government, having worked as General Counsel for the Indiana office of Utility Consumer Counselor, Interim Deputy Commissioner and Director of Partner Services for the Indiana Department of Workforce Development, and Deputy Attorney General in the Bankruptcy/Inheritance Tax Division in the Office of the Attorney General of Indiana. She also spent time working with Goodwill Industries. Stephan earned her undergraduate degree from Indiana University and her law degree from the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law.

Governor Mike Pence also recently named Thomas Fite of Brownsburg as Director of the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions (DFI), effective Monday, January 18, 2016. Since May 2013, Mr. Fite has served as Deputy Director of DFI. Prior to his role as Deputy Director, Mr. Fite has worked as both Assistant Regional Supervisor and Senior Examiner within DFI. Mr. Fite earned his undergraduate degree from Ball State University and his MBA with accounting specialization from Indiana Wesleyan University.

“I’m thankful to name Thomas Fite as Director of the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions,” said Governor Pence. “Thomas has extensive experience and unmatched background knowledge from his many years of service within the Department, and I’m confident he will continue to serve Hoosiers well in his new role.”

Governor Pence also made appointments to the following boards and commissions:

Brookville Lake Regional Waste District

Jeffrey M. Tebbe [Franklin County], reappointed to serve a three-year term through January 15, 2019


Indiana Criminal Justice Institute Board of Trustees

Sheriff John T. Boyd [LaPorte County], reappointed to serve a four-year term through February 1, 2020


East Central Indiana Regional Planning Commission

Brenda C. Brumfield [Jay County], reappointed to serve a one-year term through December 31, 2016


Firefighting Personnel Standards and Education Board

Jason D. Rogers [Delaware County], appointed to serve a four-year term through January 15, 2020


Medical Education Board

Dr. Ann Marie Nelson [Hamilton County], appointed to complete an unexpired three-year term through

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at

Check Also

Gov. Holcomb, INDOT, ISP mark start of 2024 construction season, urge drivers to travel safely in work zones

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Earlier today the Indiana Department of Transportation officially marked the start of its 2024 …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *