Gov. Holcomb Declares Disaster Emergency for Four Additional Counties, 35 Total Included

INDIANAPOLIS – Gov. Eric J. Holcomb today added four counties to the disaster emergency he declared Feb. 24, Feb. 26, Feb. 27, March 2 and March 7 in response to widespread flooding and infrastructure damage caused by sustained heavy rainfall.  

The governor signed a new executive order today to include Gibson, LaGrange, Vanderburgh and Vermillion counties—in addition to LaPorte, Noble, Posey, Wabash, Warren, Jackson, Kosciusko, Newton, Porter, Harrison, Jasper, Ohio, Pulaski, Benton, Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Jefferson, Spencer, Warrick, Carroll, Dearborn, Elkhart, Fulton, Lake, Marshall, Perry, St. Joseph, Starke, Switzerland and White counties—making 35 total counties covered by this disaster emergency declaration so far.  

The disaster declaration means the state Department of Homeland Security can take necessary actions to provide expanded emergency services and is a step the state is required to take to request assistance from the federal government. 

To report weather-related damage, please contact  

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at

Check Also

Gov. Holcomb, INDOT, ISP mark start of 2024 construction season, urge drivers to travel safely in work zones

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Earlier today the Indiana Department of Transportation officially marked the start of its 2024 …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *