Are you ready? Total Solar Eclipse on Monday, April 8

Hundreds of thousands of eclipse viewers will flock to Indiana as the first total solar eclipse in seven years makes its way across the Hoosier State on Monday, April 8. 

The eclipse will be visible over a large portion of the state, with the path of totality spanning from Evansville to the outskirts of Fort Wayne around 3 p.m. EDT/2 p.m. CDT. Other parts of Indiana will experience a partial eclipse of at least 90 percent totality from approximately 1:30 p.m. EDT/12:30 p.m. CDT to 4:30 EDT/3:30 CDT.

To ensure smooth travel, the Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT), Indiana State Police (ISP) and Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS) urge drivers to plan ahead and prepare for potential travel impacts before, during and after the eclipse. Click each image below to view a short video with tips on how to get ready.

Before the eclipse

Before the Eclipse

During the eclipse

During the Eclipse

After the eclipse

After the Eclipse

INDOT will limit road closures and restrictions where possible on state routes to help with traffic flow surrounding the eclipse. View current construction and maintenance activities on INDOT’s TrafficWise map (511in.org) or the free mobile app.

Visit the sites below and follow INDOT, ISP and IDHS on social media for more information regarding the total solar eclipse in Indiana.

Stay Informed
Get updates on INDOT projects and programs via:

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and WYRZ.org. Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at brian@wyrz.org.

Check Also

Indiana Launches $29M Legend Fund to Support Entrepreneurs, Small Businesses Access Capital

INDIANAPOLIS (March 5, 2024) – The Indiana Economic Development Corporation (IEDC) today announced the launch of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *