Senator Dan Coats

Coats, Senators Introduce Resolution to Stop Backward “Time Card” Overtime Rule

WASHINGTON, DC – Senator Dan Coats (R-Ind.), the chairman of the Joint Economic Committee, today joined a group of 46 senators to introduce a resolution under the Congressional Review Act that would block implementation of the administration’s “Time Card Rule,” also known as the Overtime Rule. This rule will force workers to log hours and limit their ability to negotiate a flexible work arrangement. It also will cost many colleges millions of dollars per year in additional operating costs, potentially raising tuition for college students.

“This overtime rule is unlikely to result in many employees seeing larger paychecks but could instead cut benefits and wages for workers,” said Coats. “Once again, the Obama Administration is overreaching with broad new regulations on employers by requiring them to devote precious resources to costly regulatory compliance.”


In 2015, the Department of Labor released a proposal to increase the salary threshold under which employees qualify for overtime pay. The department’s final rule, released last week, more than doubles that salary threshold from $23,660 to $47,476 and will result in students facing higher tuition costs and workers having less flexibility and opportunity for advancement in the workplace.

If passed, the resolution introduced today would nullify the administration’s final rule and prohibit the administration from issuing a substantially similar rule without congressional approval.

The resultion is supported by Senators Coats, Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Thad Cochran (R-Miss.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Bob Corker (R-Tenn.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), Dean Heller (R-Nev.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), John McCain (R-Ariz.), Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), David Perdue (R-Ga.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), David Vitter (R-La.) and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.).

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at

Check Also

Indiana Secretary of State’s Office Recognizes National “Slam the Scam Day” and Warns Hoosiers to Be Vigilant

INDIANAPOLIS (March 7, 2024) – Secretary of State Diego Morales will be recognizing Slam the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *