15 finalists selected for Indiana Supreme Court

The Judicial Nominating Commission (JNC) named fifteen finalists for the 109th Supreme Court judicial position. The JNC conducted public interviews of twenty-nine applicants February 17-19. The following applicants will be invited to second interviews with the JNC in March:

Hon. James R. Ahler

Hon. Vicki L. Carmichael

Hon. Paul R. Cherry

Hon. Darrin M. Dolehanty

Hon. Thomas J. Felts

Mr. Thomas M. Fisher

Hon. Frances C. Gull

Hon. Steven L. Hostetler

Hon. Matthew C. Kincaid

Mr. Mark A. Lienhoop

Hon. Steven R. Nation

Mr. Peter J. Rusthoven

Mr. Geoffrey G. Slaughter

Rep. Thomas W. Washburne

Mr. Thomas E. Wheeler, II


In April, Justice Brent Dickson will retire from the five-member Supreme Court. According to the Indiana Constitution and state statute, the seven-member JNC must recruit and select candidates to fill the vacancy on the state’s highest court.

Thirty judges and lawyers submitted applications. The applications and photographs are available online. One person withdrew his name from consideration. Twenty-nine applicants were interviewed in public at the State House. The JNC considers applicants’ legal education, writings, reputation in the practice of law, and other pertinent information.

The JNC will interview the fifteen finalists March 3-4. The JNC will then publicly vote to send three nominees to the Governor who has 60 days to select Indiana’s next justice.

About Brian Scott

I play on the radio from 7 am -1 pm weekdays on 98.9 WYRZ and WYRZ.org. Follow me on twitter @WYRZBrianScott or e-mail me at brian@wyrz.org.

Check Also

Indiana Provides Educators A Free Opportunity to Earn a Literacy Endorsement

INDIANAPOLIS –The Indiana Department of Education today announced that eligible educators can now enroll in …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *