Home / Local News / Hendricks County Community Foundation Announces 2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

Hendricks County Community Foundation Announces 2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

The Hendricks County Community Foundation is excited to announce the recipients of the 2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship: Molly Henley, Tri-West High School; Rushi Patel, Avon High School; and Chloe Whicker, Cascade High School.  These three seniors will receive full tuition to the Indiana college of their choice and an $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment. They were awarded this prestigious scholarship based on significant community service, outstanding academic achievement and leadership skills.
The Hendricks County Community Foundation received over 300 scholarship applications from Hendricks County students. After the applications were reviewed, nineteen students were chosen to be interviewed. Finalists included:
Leah Bode, Avon High School
Abigail Bohrer, Brownsburg High School
Kadelyn Burgess, Tri-West High School
Gabrielle Forsythe, Bethesda Christian High School
Bree Hall; Plainfield High School
Staci Lang, Tri-West High School
Emma Meyer, Tri-West High School
Austin Mock, Avon High School
Alli O’Leary, Brownsburg High School
Anthony Phan, Indiana Academy for Science, Math & Humanities
Packard Rozzi, Brownsburg High School
Courtney Sackett, Brownsburg High School
Jay Sangani, Avon High School
Andrew Shriner, Covenant Christian High School
Emily Spray, Plainfield High School
Aleksandra Stankovic, Tri-West High School
The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree.  The Community Foundation has been a strong advocate of higher education for over 20 years through our administration of the the Lilly Scholarship program as well as over 48 other merit-based scholarships for Hendricks County students.

About Shane Ray

Check Also

Vigo County Traffic Stop Yields Stolen Police Handgun and Arrests

Vigo County—Friday afternoon at 12:56, Indiana State Police Master Trooper Hans Nowak stopped a  white …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *